Natural Resource Governance

Professor Dean Lueck 
Director, Program on Natural Resource Governance
Professor of Economics
Affiliate Professor of Law
812/856–4522   /

The Program on Natural Resource Governance was created in 2016 to develop a network of scholars to examine the institutions that govern natural resources. The program supports and disseminates the work of its network of scholars, which includes scholars from IU and around the world. At IU, the program draws on faculty from Anthropology, Economics, Geography, Law, Political Science, the School of Global & International Studies, and the School of Public & Environmental Affairs. The study of natural resources has a long tradition at the Ostrom Workshop, and the program will continue to build on that tradition.

Fall 2018 Events

  • November 14–16 • Ostrom Workshop, 513 N. Park
    Symposium on Natural Resource Governance for Young Scholars (attendance by invitation only)

Spring 2019 Events

Past Events


Time is the natural resource in shortest supply.”
— Elinor Ostrom
Without some knowledge of what would be achieved with alternative institutional arrangements, it is impossible to
choose sensibly among them.”
— Ronald Coase

Program Components

  • Ostrom Lecture on Environmental Policy: Given annually in the spring semester by a distinguished scholar-in-residence.
  • Symposium on Natural Resource Governance for Young Scholars: Ten young scholars from around the country will convene at the Workshop on November 14–16, 2018, to present their research projects on a wide range of topics. The symposium is by invitation only.
  • Natural Resource Governance Seminar Series: Held in collaboration with the Department of Economics (schedule), School of Public & Environmental Affairs (schedule), and Maurer School of Law (schedule).
  • Natural Resource Governance Speaker Series: Occasional lectures and roundtables given by faculty at IU and around the country.
  • Ostrom Workshop Colloquium Series: Natural resource scholars will be a regular and integral component of the series.
  • Occasional Ostrom Symposium on Natural Resource Governance: Invited event to be held in the fall and comprised of original papers presented for discussion.
  • Outreach and Collaboration: Ongoing project with innovative organizations including the Research Group in Natural Resources Law at the University of Oslo, and the Classical Liberal Institute at NYU School of Law.
  • Visiting Scholars: The program will host visiting scholars working on natural resource topics.

IU Program Affiliates

Huntington Beach

Michael Alexeev, Economics
Shahzeen AttariSPEA
William Blomquist Political Science, IUPUI
Eduardo S. BrondizioAnthropology
Sanya Carley, SPEA
Jackson Dorsey, Business Economics and Public Policy
Jon Eldon, SPEA
James FarmerRecreation, Park, & Tourism Studies
Burney FischerSPEA
Robert Fischman, Maurer School of Law
Alex Hollingsworth, SPEA

David KoniskySPEA
Ore Koren, Political Science

Kerry KrutillaSPEA
Sarah MinceySPEA/IPE
Gary Motz, Indiana Geological and Water Survey
Jessica O'ReillyInternational Studies
Kenneth RichardsSPEA
Scott ShackelfordKelley, Business Law and Ethics
Jessica SteinbergInternational Studies
Gustavo Torrens, Economics

Nikos ZirogiannisSPEA

External Program Affiliates

Brett Frischmann, Law, Business & Economics, Villanova University
Ameet Morjaria, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University